Dennis Kane’s Excellent Montreal Canadiens Blog

Changing Daily, And Full of Stuff You May Or May Not Remember

Me And The Dalai Lama Have A Lot In Common. May 20, 2008

I’d like to have a couple of cold beers with the Dalai Lama. We could sit around and talk hockey, women, the price of gas, rock and roll, and can the Jays win the American League title.

I just saw an interview with the Dalai Lama on televison, and he said the two things he’s committed to, and will be committed to for the rest of his life, are inner peace and harmony of religions.

So it occurred to me that the Dalai Lama and myself are very similar, with only a slight difference. Instead of inner peace and harmony of religions, I strive for inner peace, a Habs Stanley Cup, and a private audience with the Radio City Rockettes.

The Dalai Lama has his work cut out for him. There hasn’t been harmony of religions since religion began.

And because the Dalai Lama and I are on the same wave length, except for the religion part, I have come to a decision. If Montreal doesn’t win a Cup in the next few years, I’m going to become a Buddhist monk.

Either that or get tickets to Radio City Music Hall so I can see the Rockettes. I’m not sure yet.

Either way, I hope my wife will understand.

 

 

2 Responses to “Me And The Dalai Lama Have A Lot In Common.”

  1. der Habinator Says:

    Dk,

    See my May 18th entry. And, NO, your wife will not understand, no should she. I sincerely hope she did not read this blog.

    As for the Dalai, I see him less as a religious/spiritual figure and more as a symbol of political significance – not that I”m a big fan of politics. Still, China has no business whatsoever in Tibet & the smarmy crap that it is somehow historically an extension of China and therefore rightfully a possession of China to batter into submission as it will is so much !@@#Q!$!@$. A common misapprehension of China underlies this bs in that there is a belief that China’s history in one long continuous homogenous whole which LIE is of course happily promoted by the politburo. LOL. If you’re talking about a fragmented, ethnically/linguistically/politically patchwork, you’re talking China. What a huge joke to think that the Han the Chin, the Shang, the Sung, the Mongols, the Ming, the Manchus, the Communists & etc etc represent some kind of political and cultural unity over time. Hell, even as we speak, China is busily suppressing not only Tibet but other substantial minorities (often numbering in the tens of millions) in the name of some kind of non-existent Chinese reality that they are assiduously hammering into being in a bloody and hypocritical fashion – not that we are less than complicit in this charade. Oh yeah, the problem of striving to be `freer’ starts at home, eh?

  2. danielleia Says:

    I almost went to see the Rockettes (and RENT!) while in NYC. Then, there was the stagehands and writers strike.

    At my last College, they had Tibetan Monks for about a week creating a “Sand Mandala.” It was crazy, they spent the while week creating this really cool work of art, then they went and busted it up and gave everyone the sand. The monks had jewelry you could buy from them that they handmade. I bought a ring. They were so kind. They all bowed and thanked me – for buying a ring. I love them!


Leave a Reply

